The Education Schools Project

Advisory Board

Anthony Alvarado is the executive director of the New York City Council’s Commission on the Campaign for Fiscal Equity. Formerly, he was chancellor of instruction in the San Diego Unified School District, and he held previous posts as superintendent of two New York City school districts. He has been a lecturer and faculty member at several universities, including Harvard University, Hunter College, and Teachers College, Columbia University.

Gaston Caperton is president of the College Board. From 1988 to 1996, he was governor of West Virginia, where he implemented a comprehensive statewide school improvement plan, focusing especially on the effective use of educational technology. Before entering public service, he was a successful businessman and banker.

N. Gerry House became president and CEO of the Institute for Student Achievement in 2000, after serving as a school superintendent for 15 years in Memphis, TN, and Chapel Hill, NC. She also has served as a teacher, junior and senior high guidance counselor, principal, and assistant superintendent.

Theodore Sanders is past president of the Education Commission of the States. He has been a classroom teacher, chief state school officer in three states, acting U.S. secretary of education, and university president.

Ted Sizer is chairman emeritus of the Coalition of Essential Schools, an organization that he founded in 1984. He was formerly dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Education, headmaster of the Phillips Academy in Andover, MA, and founding director of the Annenberg Institute for School Reform at Brown University.

Copyright © 2005 CommunicationWorks, LLC.
Privacy Statement
Created March 7, 2005
Last Updated September 18, 2006
About Us
Preparing Leaders
Educating Teachers
Educating Researchers
Report Critical Of Training Of Teachers
No Teacher Left Behind
Study Says Teacher Training Is Chaotic
Prominent Teacher-Educator Assails Field, Suggests New Accrediting Body in Report (PDF)
Site Map
Contact Us